The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I have a small amount of bga forming on my substrate and maybe staghorn algae? Sorry for the poor quality pics....Last week I did a waterchange and a big trim . Would this have caused this? I have been dosing using the EI method, but I might have been overdoing it...Suggestions? This sucks...Oh btw, I dont have the coralife lights yet...will be here tuesday..

·
Registered
612 Posts
I'm still learning about algae but it could be staghorn or fuzz algae. What color is it? I thought I had staghorn algae but when I noticed that it was green and not grey and didn't branch out like staghorn I figured that it was fuzz algae.

Here's a link (thanks to danepatrick and hoppy) Aquarium Algae

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's a grey color...heres another not so great pic

·
Registered
612 Posts
As far as I know staghorn is caused by high ammonia. Did you test your water before adding it to the tank? Did you have a recent death in the tank? What are the inhabitants? What are your water parameters?
Sorry about all the questions, Just trying to get a better idea of what's going on.

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I don't use test kits anymore except for ph, which was 6.0 this morning before the light came on. I will test at the end of the light cycle and see what it is then. Deaths in the tank? Yes, I am missing a black neon and serpae tetra...I usually dose-
sun,tue,thur-1/2 tsp Kno3, 1/4 tsp Po4, 1/8 K2so4.
mon, wed, fri-1/8 tsp Csm+B

Co2-4 bps
kh-0

See the grey junk on the bottom of the plant?

·
Registered
612 Posts