The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've spent all evening and into the night trying to set up a new 20 gallon long. I'm exhausted. Substrate, added water, no cloudiness, all going well, and then comes the part where I set up the equipment. It's my first time using a canister filter, and though the instructions were pretty difficult, there were several YouTube tutorials (Thank you, YouTubers).

Inflow pipe too long:
Apparently my glass inflow lily pipe is too long, it would have to be buried deep into the substrate to fit my 20 gallon long. I've tried searching for glass inflow pipes that are 7-8" long for 12/16 mm tubing, but I can only find ones 5.2" or 10-12" tall.

Heater too long:
I went with the Eheim Jager 50W with the plant to put one on each end of the tank. Well, surprise! They're really tall. I can't put them vertically without them being buried in the substrate, and I know that's a dangerous situation. Can I hide them behind the 3d background, that shouldn't have any substrate behind it? Or hide them behind these, if I can bury out spots in the substrate? Heater Covers HC-001 | Aquarium Tank Products | Universal Rocks

·
Registered
3,917 Posts
What is wrong with the smaller 5.2 inch lily pipe?

A lot of folks prefer their heater horizontal. If you stick it behind something like a background then you just have to worry about water flow. If there is good water flow it's fine. Otherwise not so much.

·
Registered
16g rimless cherry shrimp, 20g cube dwarf cichlid, 40g breeder nano community.
595 Posts
How about an OASE Indoor Aquatics Filtosmart Thermo 100 ? or 200 or 300?

Built-in replaceable heater, well made and quiet.

I have two of their big brother Biomaster filters and they are great.

Actually the OASE Indoor Aquatics Biomaster Thermo 250 would be perfect if you have the space for it. It even has the removable prefilter.