The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the aquarium world and setting up my first planted tank. I just bought the Eheim 2224 filter for my 29 gallon tank and was wondering how I should position the spray bar to achieve the best circulation in the tank. I have been looking at some of your tanks on this forum and it seems everyone does it a little different. I have noticed some people have even removed the spray bar and just use the return hose it self.
With all the plants I will be putting in the tank I am just concerned about poor circulation. Like I said I am new to the game and will value anyones opinion.
Thanks,
Mike :proud:

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
Welcome to TPT.

It's going to depend on your hardscape and/or plant arrangement, also what the fauna is going to be if any.

Can you provide a little more detail to your plans?

·
Registered
933 Posts
I think circulation is very important. I have a 29 gallon as well. I don't have a spray bar but I use a power head to help. I have my hose to the filter at just above the substrate in the back left corner and the return hose mounted high in the right hand corner in the back, pointed down towards the middle of the front glass. This helps with my circulation. I had to adjust and readjust until I noticed the most debris being removed from the tank. But you don't want to have it (or a spraybar) to close to the surface. You want to keep in as much C02 as possible.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok this is what I am thinking.

29 Gallon tank
Eheim 2224
65 watt single 6700K tube fixture
60lbs of Ecco-Complete(will give me 3" base)
Natural Aquarium Vital Liquid(as my CO2 source)
1 piece of driftwood in right corner(12"x13"x8")
Some slate rocks on left side of tank
As far as fish:Maybe 2 Platys, 2 guppies, 2 Cory Cat's, 4 Tetra's and a couple of Cherry Shrimp, but that is still up in the air.