The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to aquaria, so I'm not completely up to date on a lot of things.. One thing is lighting. For how many years, people relied on single 15w light bulbs for most tanks, and suddenly, people want to run 192 watt lights, and I'm still in a little bit of shock about it.

So, here's the current question-
Lots of people run power compacts, metal halides and such. Why does no one use the standard spiral compact fluorescent lights that can be bought at Wal-Mart?
I could buy sockets & wires for $3 per light, and the lights range from $6-$15, depending on wattage, K, and all that.. So, what reason is there for me to not make my own canopy & rig up my own lighting fixtures using them? I'm assuming there's a specific reason that people don't use them so much for aquariums, but I can't seem to find that reason. I was thinking that I could put 3 different sockets under a canopy for a 20L, and at that point I could get some cool diversity in my tank, because I could light one end and not the other, or both ends and not the middle, or whatever. It could make nifty shadows throughout the tank that aren't seen in a tank that has a light the whole way down its length.

So, is there a reason why no one uses compact fluorescents, and everyone uses power compacts? And if I go with compact fluorescents, what wattage & K and everything would you recommend for a 20 long aquarium?

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Well compact flourescents (CF) also come in tubes. I actually don't know the difference between CF and power compact (PC). I use the screw in CF's in my 10 gallon.

People do not use screw in CF's for, I believe, the following:

Not very space conserving
Light is less concentrated even with proper reflectors (I think)
15w of screw in CF is less "light" than 15w of normal flourescent lighing.

Next you can search "screw in" or maybe just "screw" in the lighting section

·
Registered