The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any advice on a cheap setup just for plants that are spill over? I have a small nano tank with some floating plants that have taken over. I love them and want to keep letting them multiply for larger tank plans in the future but they are choking out (light) of the other plants. I'd love a cheap light recommendation and minimum gear to keep the plants happy and growing on the cheap. At this point mainly the floating plants. But I could see this applying to planted ones as well. Thanks and also Hi! New here. This is my first post. I am also very new to planted tanks.

·
Premium Member
81 Posts
I have similar issue too. Not sure if you have access to a deck, but I started a bucket with tank water and some gravel and use it for my trimmings and excess floaters. Not sure what I'll do when the plants fill the bucket or when winter comes?

Sent from my SM-G988U1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have similar issue too. Not sure if you have access to a deck, but I started a bucket with tank water and some gravel and use it for my trimmings and excess floaters. Not sure what I'll do when the plants fill the bucket or when winter comes?

Sent from my SM-G988U1 using Tapatalk
No filtration? Do plants need any kind of filtration to survive? I'm in GA. When it gets a bit warmer I could easliy put them outside in a bucket. I'm not exactly sure what planted tank plants need to survive beyond water and light.

·
Premium Member
81 Posts
No filtration? Do plants need any kind of filtration to survive? I'm in GA. When it gets a bit warmer I could easliy put them outside in a bucket. I'm not exactly sure what planted tank plants need to survive beyond water and light.