The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I'm a complete newbie at the whole invertebrate thing and I am worried sick about my two red cherry shrimp. I currently have them in a 1 gallon tank, and I bought them two days ago. No ammonia in tank(other testing things arriving in mail soon so currently have no idea..) I acclimated them to the tank, water temp, and everything seemed great(they were very active and eating a lot). One of them even molted! Yesterday I noticed that there was a lot of poop in the tank so I tried removing some of it. Granted the tank isn't great right now as it has only two marimba balls and a fake plant for them to climb on. I tried giving them a piece of algae wafer to eat, and took out remaining bits after 3 hours. The problem is that the tank looks a little milky/cloudy and the shrimp are sitting in one place most of the time. This worries me. Especially now that one of hem is starting to lose color(????:c) I read conflicting opinions on whether you should do a partial water change or let the water calm on its own, so please offer any advice. I think currently my options are that can do a partial water change or try my luck with putting them into the new planted, filtered, and heated tank with my Betta and hoping for the best (would obviously remove them if Betta seems aggressive). Please help me out.

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
Test ammonia again, I bet there is now some ammonia since it seems you overfed. 2 little shrimp don't need much food at all. The white cloud is a bacterial bloom (and so ammonia levels will rise).

Does the tank have a filter on it? How long has it been running/is it cycled?