The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alrighty.

I am in the process of saving up for a 180 Gallon, 72x18x31. I am currently however, trying to plan for what I want to stock and how I want to aquascape so I am not buying extra stuff I don't need, or fish I don't really want. So close I can taste it, but I have never done a tnk on this scale before, so I am a bit unsure, the possibilities seem so, well, dauntingly huge.

Anyhow. I have a major 'thing' for small small fish and really having to look at what is going on in my tanks. Drives my hubby batty cause he like's big fish, but this tank is all for me, and I am trying to come up with a stock list of compatible pretty fish, and was thinking of one of my main players being Celestial Pearl Danios. I just think they are so beautiful, but have never kept them before.

Also thinking that i want cherry shrimp as well, that little pop of red is so nice! I'm a big fan of inverts in general, but so far only have experience with cherry shrimp and dwarf crays, and am a little worried about putting crays in a tank with hopefully small fish.

TLDR:

Small fishes. pretty small fishes. pretty small fishes that are compatible with CPDs

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Just cause I am thinking to myself here,

I like complex tanks, but really don't have much in the way of experience with fish, so much as planting tanks that I like and then dumping a few cardinals in for color (lol)

Thinking of maybe some endler's or micro rasbora, I think tiny fish make for a more intimate tank, you really have to stop and look and see what is going on. I could watch my substrate and blyxa and all my shrimp and crays for hours. Makes me feel kinda nerdy but hey.

I keep thinking that maybe I should go out on a limb and just go for it and get a moderate amount of discus, but they frighten me with their delicate reputation.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·