The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey TPT!!!

Well I am almost finished with my hood for my 55g, and I am now installing my AH Supply 54w T5HO x2 kit, and it came with the standard wire nuts for the connections. But being a MECP Certified 12v Audio and Electronics installer I prefer to solder my connections, and use adhesive Lined Marine grade Shrink Wrap to insulate my work in Cars and Boats. But when it comes to solid wire I have VERY LITTLE Experience! So I looked up info online about connecting the 2 different wires and it says no problem. BUT when it comes to Fluorescents I know they can be temperamental about their connections!

SO When hooking up the Power cord (stranded) to the Ballast Power Inputs (solid) will it be OK to solder the connections? As I really really don't like wire nuts where the connections will be stressed due to moving/removing the hood for tank maintenance, ect...!

Thanks for Yalls input!
Drew

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
AWESOME!!

Thanks for the quick help !!!!!

I just hate Wire Nuts!!!:angryfire

Drew:proud:

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
dbosman,

Thanks for the link, but i prefer to solder so I know it's a good connection! Not saying the In-Sure connections wouldn't be, as I have never used them, but with over 20 years of installing 12v electronics I have come to trust my soldering skills.

I can see where the In-Sure connectors would be a HUGE improvement to other type of connectors, and I put the link in my favorites because I would like to try them where a connector would be your ONLY OPTION! So THANK YOU for telling me/us about them!!!

Again Guys THANKS!!!
Drew

·
Registered
1,121 Posts