The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to planted tanks, after a 2 decade break from tanks, so much has changed. I love the planted tanks & all the accessories that make having one do-able. But if the whole bottom is planted then you no longer vacuum I'm guessing? You would suck up all your plants, right?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
12,428 Posts
After starting fish only and then working into planted, I have adjusted my thinking way back on what is required to keep the tank working. But that does vary with what and who is in the tank. For breeding tanks, I stopped vacing when I realized the filters convert the ammonia and I have plenty of filter to handle a bit of extra debris. Water changes remove the extra nitrate that results from the extra debris. In tanks that I want to look nice, I remove the part that offends my eye and worry far less about getting all the little scraps out from in/around and under things like wood and rocks. At one time when fish only, I would have stuck the tube down to the bottom, moved décor and totally gone berserk to get every scrap out. I finally asked WHY I was doing all that work to get dirt out when I was putting dirt in to feed the plants. ????

·
Registered
1,507 Posts
It's good to skim the surface wherever you can to remove any decaying mulm, around the bases of plants, low flow areas where it collects, etc. But as far as doing a deep substrate vac like a fish only tank with gravel...no, dont need to do that.
This. I do the same and I've found that when i've gotten lazy and skipped it is when the "blue-green slime algae" (Cyanobacteria) starts to creep in.

Tommy

·
Registered
22 Posts