The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im sure this is a total noob question.. but here goes..
Got a few snails with some plants I ordered recently.. they are very tiny.. brown guys..

Can I assume they are harmless or should I remove them as I find them?

No fish yet.. still very early in tank life..

·
Registered
588 Posts
Generally you get pond snails with plants.. Sometimes ramshorns. Neither will injure your plants or anything else, they live off of algae and can help a new tank setup, or even an established one. Most people just don't like the look of them. I didn't at first, so got assassin snails to remove them.. Since then, I've grown to like them and appreciate them and have them in pretty much all of my tanks. And even breed them to feed my puffer.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,738 Posts
I have pond snails in my tanks and they are not harmful. They do not eat healthy plants but will eat dieing plant matter and algae, along with uneaten fish/shrimp food. People assume because they see snails on dead/damaged plants that the snails did it, not that they're just cleaning up what already happened. They cleaned up a no-tech dirted vase I'm trying to rejuvenate some small Argentinian swords in. Thought the leaves were nearly dead.. nope, algae.. snails made them clean and green again, they also work on the diatoms that bid up on the glass (though not as well as otos)^^
I actually have a wood soaking bin with a ton of pond snails in there, I throw in leftover zucchini from pleco feeding and let their # shore up. Going to be getting dwarf puffers soon and they love to eat snails so free food source.
I also have a few micro ramshorns but they don't breed as fast as the pond snails.