The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I got a new betta fish a couple of days ago. I noticed a white speck on his dorsal fin a couple of days after I got him. Now, it is swollen and whiter (getting worse and worse). I called the pet shop and they said they would exchange him for a new one.. but I don't want the pet shop to not even "try" to save him and flush him down the toilet because of his disease(?).

He isn't swimming around and is just floating/standing upright.

I read somewhere that the gravel might be contaminated so I boiled the gravel and disinfected the tank with boiling water....

Does anyone know what I should do?
I'm new to the fish world.. any help would be appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,032 Posts
Every fish owner should have methylene blue and Epsom salts on hand, as well as some aquarium salt.
I am not a big fan of long medicine exposure, with the exception of colloidal silver which needs 5 days worth of treatment.

First things first, to sooth the fish I would do a bath 10 minutes in 1 teaspoon of Epsom salts dissolved in 1 gallon of water.
Then 30 minutes in methylene blue at double strength to disinfect the wound. Once the external problems are solved you stand a chance of dealing with the internal ones.
Keep the water clean, by your description it sounds like an un-cycled tank, which is compounding your problems. Do partial water changes every day or two for the next 2 weeks.

Make a gallon jug of each, and every time just decant into a small glass jug/pot you can float in the tank until temperatures are more even.

Repeat morning and night if possible until the visible white stuff is gone. (the Epsom salts can still be used when the fish looks a bit off), but by now you can switch over to aquarium salt