The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiyas,

If I noticed about 10+ shrimplets (CBS) about a week ago... and almost none now, and my WP's are perfect, would it be a pest or food ?

I feed every day, sometimes every other day.. I do crush up normal shrimp foods so hopefully it's small enough for everyone to feed on it.

I have seen some planaria, is it likely they are killing the shrimplets or because I am not feeding shrimplet formula / food that I'm losing them ?

Thanks.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I am no expert at all, but i find that sometimes they are just really good at hiding. They can fit/get to about anywhere in the tank. I have a 20L with lots of plants and moss and sometimes i can see 30+ babies and other times i can only find 1 or 2. When that happens i usually find myself repeatedly going back to the tank and doing head counts to see how many i have. But like i said, in my experience they are probably just hiding.

·
Registered
233 Posts
What kind of substrate and plants do you have? i.e they could be hiding.
Planaria are definitely as possibility.

I feed my tank every few days. Last time I threw a piece of sweet potato in there, everybody came out to feast, even the tiny little ones, LOL. So I find the big piece of food a good attractant for observation.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I used to have those worries with my adult cherries. I thought half of them died. It wasn't until I moved the "survivors" to a smaller tank that I found the other half in the old tank... Slowly one by one over 2 weeks lol. Its easy for me to see the smaller shrimplets... Its like they're naive and sit out in the open.

Sent from my XT1049 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
758 Posts
Yeah if you have moss/plants then they just hide really well. I know I see like 20 or so adults swimming around and sometime in the evening I spot 50+ juvies feeding on the sponge filter.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·