The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to the shrimp world and have a few questions. I have a 10 gallon tank, with a bubble wand in the very back. In front of the wand, is driftwood planted with java fern, java moss, and anubias. I also have a moss ball in a corner. I have a top fin power filter 10, which I plan to cover the bottom opening (where the water enters) with a sponge filter cover? Would that work? My water seems ok, the only concern I have is the PH which is at roughly 7.8. I dont have anything in there yet, because I am going on vacation for two weeks. When I return, I will buy some cherry shrimp. I had the tank for about a month now, and used to have guppies, along with three loaches. The guppies died within days, and the loaches remained alive until I decided to return them. Two weeks later, I am here with an empty tank. I have a few questions:

1. Can I put neon tetras in the tank? I was planning to put five, but if they stress the shrimp and eat them all I wont do that.

2. What do shrimp eat? I was planning to feed them banana leaves, guava leaves, and algae pellets? Any specialized shrimp food you recommend is great.

3. Is my setup fine? Will the shrimp be happy and healthy?

4. Any changes I should do to my tank? I cant change the flooring, which is gravel.

Thanks for any responses, any other tips you have for me will be great! I think thats about it, but one last thing. Heres a photo to the tank - https://i.gyazo.com/...d30545a5bff.jpg

·
Registered
1 Posts