The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time keeping cherry shrimp. I do have wood and African fan Shrimp in my main tank and have never had an issue. Since buying them last week I've lost over half. The only thing I have noticed is a yellow ring around a couple of shrimp. Ammonia nitrite 0 nitrate 20 kh 8 GH 12 tds 300. The only thing I can think I did wrong was not fully acclimate them properly as I was told I can just float the bag by the shop. Any advice would be great, are my current levels ok for these shrimp and how long after large water changes and stress should I still expect deaths? Thanks all.

·
Registered
3,699 Posts
The shop likely sold you adults... so that's number 1 issue.

The adults might be imports... so that could be number 2 issue.

Adults don't acclimate as well as juvies do, especially if they are imports and the stress of changing water parameters could cause further issues... not properly acclimating COULD be a 3rd issue...

After that, could be diet? I would chalk it up to age/stress first before diet since you haven't had them long.... There are other possibilities, unfortunately. If the tank they are in was ever treated with meds and there's any chance that there's any residue left over from it? Or maybe something in the tank is causing harm? Such as a heater, decoration or a plant?

The GH and KH are "okay", as people have raised shrimp in both higher as well as lower parameters.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you atleast I know my water is ok, they do look fully grown it's a lesson learnt I suppose. I will have to do some more research with acclimatising them to the tank prior. I did have a couple of mollies in the tank with a couple of wood shrimp prior to these so I presume everything in the tank is fine. I'm feeding a couple pellets each day that the shop sold me food wise.

·
Registered
3,699 Posts