The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Opae Ula Crazed.
1,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have received literally hundreds of shrimp through the mail but I have little experience shipping them, let alone in the cold weather. I'm looking for tips and suggestions from those who have this experience and who can share it with those of us who don't.

How do you pack, how many shrimp would you include in each bag, what all do you include in your packing?

What carrier would you suggest?

Thank you!

·
Opae Ula Crazed.
1,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks!

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S III using Tapatalk 2

·
Premium Member
7,997 Posts
I ship with or without heat packs VIA usps. Rarely have a death either way. Shrimp (except sulawesi) handle cold temps incredibly well.

I use insulated boxes and jam any extra space with crumpled newspaper. I only use heat packs if soneone requests them

·
Registered
2,450 Posts
I've heard of RCS surviving being frozen over in an outdoor container.

·
Opae Ula Crazed.
1,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I recently shipped some "Chocolate" Cherries... and they died of apparent cold exposure in transit.

·
Opae Ula Crazed.
1,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
A 7x7x7 with not enough newspaper.

·
Opae Ula Crazed.
1,408 Posts

·
Opae Ula Crazed.
1,408 Posts

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Average temps here in Upstate NY earlier this week was 30-45f. I received a package from Florida which left on Monday and got to me Wednesday. There were 12 fish total, all juveniles. 4 Kordon breather bags with the fish distributed between them. One 72 hour heat pack (I think - it looked generic with no printing on it) that was still warm when I opened the box. The total on shipping was $16.50 for this deal.

Here are some pix of the box and packing. I took them for that time when I too might want to ship animals. The guy I got them from, in my opinion, did it right. With over 900 transactions on aquabid he has 100% positive rating.