The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, where do I start?

I've been frequenting this website for about 6 months now, reading all of the fantastic 'tank journals', seeing what creative and beautiful things people have to share. After a while of hmm'ing and haa'ing about starting up a journal on this site, I figured I would tank the dive and share my story.

A bit about me: I grew up with my father keeping fish and having a 150 gal, lemon tetra's, plants, and at another time discus. He started travelling more for work and the hobby kind of left him. I spend more of my teenage years knowing the tank to hold other things besides fish for more time than I could remember after that. I never really got into it myself after that; I was pretty young when he had it running but always had warm and fond memories of what I could recall. I definitely remember going to the LFS many times, looking in wonder at all the pretty things in the floor to ceiling shelving of tanks.

Fast forward to June of this year - and the reason why this journal is titled the way it is.

My partner is a Montesorri teacher and one of the things that she's always prided herself on is having an aquarium in her classroom. She loves having it as a focal point of the space, for the kids to watch - enraptured with the fish, the plants and teaching them how we take care of living things, not just as pets. Anyways, when the shutdown happened in March, she had very little access to the school and as a result the tank was only looked after by the owner of the school. Let's just say that didn't go well...