The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to planted tanks but not new to aquarium keeping. I recently broke down my saltwater reef tank and decided to try a planted tank.
I have a 90 gallon tank
First questions is what substrate to use. From what I can tell I should shy away from sand and topsoil and go with a commercial planted tank substrate? How deep does the substrate have to be?

Second question is I would like to use my existing light fixture from my reef tank. I will only be using 2 48" VHO bulbs which gives me 220w of light. Will this be enough light? Also the current bulbs are one 10k and one super actinic, is this a good enough light spectrum to grow plants?

Third question is my reef tank was an open top, do i need to have lids for a planted tank to trap CO2? I have a CO2 bottle left over from my reef system that I will use to infuse CO2 into the tank at some point.

Last question is what are some good plants to start with and should I plant as heavy as I can at the begging or bring plants in slowly?

Thanks for your advise in advance.

·
Super Moderator
12,131 Posts
While a commercial planted substrate such as Flourite, EcoComplete or ADA Amazonia are great products, there is no reason to shy away from sand either. Many people have successful planted tanks with sand as well.

Substrates usually are about 2-3 inches, I would say.

Regarding your light, that is quite a bit that you will have. With that much light, you will definitely need to be injecting CO2 (it is good that you still have your bottle left over). In addition to CO2, you will also need to be dosing macro and micronutrients for your plants (best to look through the forums for this; there are many threads on this). Many people like the estimative index (EI) dosing regime.