The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I graduated from the 10 gallon scape, and proceeded to scape a 20 gallon.
I call it "Watercolor Memories" and approached it as I would a painting.
DarkCobra and I took a walk through the swamp and found a neat branch that matched the "tree" I had in my head. He mounted it on a piece of lava rock, after we "pruned" the branch and the rock. Tire and fencing from the hobby store. He also designed a LED adjustable sun.

When adding calcium, it creates a brief but beautiful misty morning:

The makings: Plants: carpet-dwarf hairgrass, micro swords (2 different species) blyxa japonica. Tree Leaves- hydrocotyle japan. Tree base- anubias petite nana, staurogyne (repens?)

I hand painted the background with acrylics on foam board:

"Sandbags" made from knee high stockings and substrate add slope:

Substrate added:

A bit of CO2, and hand picked mature male guppies complete it.
We had a slight battle with staghorn, (it liked the fence), but DarkCobra's One Two Punch solved that problem. VERY low maintenance, most of it keeping the hydrocotyle pruned.

-Stef*

·
Registered
3,890 Posts
I'm not sure I would've done the hydrocotyle for the leafs, but I really like the scape as a whole.

Also, you painted that background yourself? That's sick man, it looks amazing! And I love how its not the standard black background but actually like, a custom background for the tank.

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah, although I didn't follow any conventional rules of scaping, I did try for harmony and not try to force anything. The hydrocotyle was selected because I needed something with a broader type leaf because it is in the foreground, and could also grow out of the tank without looking ratty. (It grows fast, but it is versatile)

Mosses wouldn't work because I don't like the "Whoville" look.