The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did a search for this. I figured it must have been discussed somewhere, but alas, I could not find anything which answered my question.

This is the only aquatic soil I have available in my area. I was reading the back and couldn't quite figure it out. It feels like gravel, and since it is made out of some kind of ceramic... Anyway, who has used or is using this? What can you tell me about it?

I'm completely new to aquatic soils, so I would really like to know what I'm looking at. I'm interested in doing a nano, probably 1.5g, if I win the one on eBay, possibly larger if I find something better for a reasonable price.

·
Everyone has an opinion
1,677 Posts
I did a search for this. I figured it must have been discussed somewhere, but alas, I could not find anything which answered my question.

This is the only aquatic soil I have available in my area. I was reading the back and couldn't quite figure it out. It feels like gravel, and since it is made out of some kind of ceramic... Anyway, who has used or is using this? What can you tell me about it?

I'm completely new to aquatic soils, so I would really like to know what I'm looking at. I'm interested in doing a nano, probably 1.5g, if I win the one on eBay, possibly larger if I find something better for a reasonable price.
It will work just fine....DC

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
It's great stuff. I use it in my 20 gallon. Its actually fired clay. so similar to ceramic I guess. but yeah as stated it is a light substrate untill it takes in some water. Its VERY similar to flourite or Soilmaster. Personally I wouldn't waste the money on Flourite considering that this is a much cheaper alternative. As is the Soil Master line.
The only think some ppl don't like about it is the color. its a light tan basically like pottery clay. But if you have a thick carpet you will never know.