SCAPEr
2,560 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
October 10 2011

Dimension: 10G
Light: [STRIKE]2 x 14Watts CFL [/STRIKE] Odyssea 2x 18 Watts T5HO
Substrate: 20lb Eco-Complete + 4.4lb Fluval Stratum + 4.4lb Fluval Stratum
Hard Scape: Seiryu Stones ~17lb
Photo Period Hours: [STRIKE]6am - 6pm (12 hours/ day)[/STRIKE] 10am - 8pm (10 hours/ day)

Comments/ Concerns/ Critics/ Opinions are welcome!
This is my first time emersed setup.

Attachments

·
Registered
934 Posts
Is that Aquasoil? I would drop the water level down farther, like maybe 1/4". Also, make sure to vent the air once or twice a week.

I had about 4 pots worth of HC and planted randomly throughout the tank. I waited about 3 months to fill it up.

·
SCAPEr
2,560 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Is that Aquasoil? I would drop the water level down farther, like maybe 1/4". Also, make sure to vent the air once or twice a week.

I had about 4 pots worth of HC and planted randomly throughout the tank. I waited about 3 months to fill it up.

No its 20lb Eco-complete, so should I lower my water still? too floody?

Whats vent the air once or twice a week? like open the saran wrap the whole day? I did poke many holes with a pencil on the wrap like 15 holes.
And mist the whole tank once a day.

And my temp is hot... because of my light? (2 x 14 Watts CFL 6500k bulbs)
** thermometer is showing the air temperature inside the tank. Notice the thermometer is not under water but hanging in the air.

Attachments

·
Registered
934 Posts
Temp might be a little high. I have saran wrap on my tank without any holes and once or twice a week I open a corner and kind of exchange the air out by blowing into the tank and pushing down on the wrap to let air out. This process takes about 2 minutes at most. By having holes in the wrap, you are causing humidity to escape, which can cause the plants to dry out.

Yes, I would lower the water more than what you have pictured.

·
SCAPEr
2,560 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Updates!