The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a new macro lens, so I figured that I could put it to use and take a few shots. I'm still getting the hang of it and I think that I'll be needing some off-camera flash. If anyone has tips, I'm all ears! I'm a newbie to macro photography, esp for aquariums.

Rotala macrandra:

Cardinal tetras:

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
Yeah, I was going to ask what camera body and lens.

In case you weren't aware, I see a neon tetra in each fish photo. And looks like you might have Cyanobacteria (Blue Green Algae) on the hardscape (maybe just a tad on some plants/moss).

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
@monkeyruler90 @WaterLife I used a Canon 6D w/ a Sigma 105mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro.

Yeah, I was going to ask what camera body and lens.

In case you weren't aware, I see a neon tetra in each fish photo. And looks like you might have Cyanobacteria (Blue Green Algae) on the hardscape (maybe just a tad on some plants/moss).
Yes, totally aware, thanks. :icon_roll

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
If you can get the images without the fish blurring from the exposure time the more the better, looks like your tank lighting is sufficient for this.

Off camera flash lighting is problematic, you want to use bounce lighting, like aiming the flash at a light colored ( preferably white) ceiling or upper wall surface. You also want to remove any object (like a light across the tank top..) that may shadow the bounce lighting on your subject.

·
Banned
5,942 Posts
Those look really good! You have to watch that macro photography people can see everything :nerd:

Bump:
Off camera flash lighting is problematic, you want to use bounce lighting, like aiming the flash at a light colored ( preferably white) ceiling or upper wall surface. You also want to remove any object (like a light across the tank top..) that may shadow the bounce lighting on your subject.