The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly, I'm not sure if this should go in this section of the forum, or the DIY. Mods, obviously feel free to move if required.

A bottle of Osmocote plus, and some size 00 gelatine capsules makes me a very happy man

So for the next hour I’ll sit down and make a load of DIY root tabs. My Amazon sword has started to yellow, and the root-tabs that you can buy in the shop seem really expensive.

I’m planning on doing a water change tonight and quick general tidy up so this will be an ideal time to get these bad boys down. I’ll post a picture before, and if I remember, I’ll try and keep some updates going.

I’ve never used root-tabs before, but after some reading I know that I’ve got to ‘plant’ them pretty deep to avoid ammonia spikes.

I’m a little unsure of how many to use, or if just to push a couple in around the heavy root feeders. Maybe a silly question, but I’m assuming the Crypts and Val etc will benefit from these, which in that case I’m guessing that an even spread over the whole footprint would be a good idea? What’s the ‘range’ of these, 3inches?

My footprint of my tank is 42cms x 80cms *(height of 64cm but that’s not important in this, is it?), and the substrate is JBL Manado Natural Substrate

Any feedback would be great guys/gals as I’ve got a niggling feeling that this is going against what I perceive to be ok, putting plant ferts etc into a fish tank, when all my fishkeeping time I’ve been trying to keep this as pure as possible – apart from the usual fish waste etc. I don’t even dose Excell or anything.

Thanks

·
Registered
10 Posts