The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

Long time lurker, first time posting.
I have had some experience with keeping tropical and saltwater fish. I am somewhat new to the planted aquarium game and have given a go at a 50 gallon w/ sump as my first foray into the planted tank realm. It has been running since the beginning of 2021. I planted lightly at first and have been adding plants here or there when the budget allows. I am looking to hear constructive criticism on the layout of my aquascape and equipment, as I am in process of building a new tank. I want to see where I can improve!

The setup:

Tank: 50 gallon w/ sump 36"x18"x18" (LxWxH)
Sump: 12"x24" box with in order filtration (was an old wet/dry type)
Mesh filter sock
500g of Fluval Biomax
Blue matala pad
Grey matal pad
20 ppi poret foam
Substrate: Dirted with pool filter sand cap
Lighting: Finnex Planted+ 24/7 36"
Plants: cryptocoryne wendtii
Lots of Java Fern
Lots of Cryptocoryne Balansae
Some jungle val
Some other various crypts
Anubias Nana
Some mystery hygrophila.
Fish: 3 ct. Golden Wonder Killifish
6 ct. Red Venezuelan Sailfin Corys
10 ct. Green Tiger Barbs
4 ct. Thai Flying Foxes

Notes:
I think the fish load may be more than what is typical in a planted tank.

It has a durso style overflow now. It will be changed to a herbie style overflow whenever I get it moved onto the new plywood stand I built to keep my twin girls from adding "fish" of there own (shoes, toys and crayons.) The tank sits on an open metal stand now.

Like I stated earlier, would love to hear some constructive criticism on what I have. What ever you see that should have been done differently, let me hear it!

Pictures:
1) The tank as it sits now
2) the sump and its filtration
3) the just after setup
4) new plywood stand with door
5) top view of new stand

Thank you!

·
Registered
2,141 Posts