The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am setting up a 240 gallon planted tank, this is by far the biggest tank I have set up yet. In the past I have always used RO water buffered with a bit of tap, however I am now concerned over how to make and store enough water to do a water change. How necisarry is RO? my water is here is extremely hard.

·
Registered
2,536 Posts
It depends on your local tap water. For 99% of the people in this hobby it isn't necessary at all for plants or fish.

I am by no means an expert on shrimp, but shrimp like RCS and Amanos are bulletproof. As to high end CRS etc. maybe someone more knowledgeable can chime in.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I don't remember off the top of my head what the kh gh is, however I do remember that it has about 25 grains per gallon of hardness (per the water company's website) I do know that the ph and kh are quite high. when I get home I will check them and report back.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'd have to think really hard before I used mainly RO in a tank that size. For my 90g I use about 80% RO and 20% tap and even that's pushing my comfort zone.
I feel the same way. It is not even so much an issue of waste (i use all waste water) it is really the storage issue. I guess I could do 2 giant 60 gallon trash cans with float valves in the top and bulkheads in the bottom. I am a little freaked out by 50% water changes on this thing.

·
Registered
1,956 Posts
I make my water into a 60g drum on wheels. I roll it out of the garage and right outside the front door. I just pump the water in from there. I only do a WC every 2 or 3 weeks though. More than that and I get scolded. lol

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·