The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm getting a RO system for my aquariums and will be transitioning slowly to completely RO water. I've got a planted, 29 gallon tank, and dose daily with Excel Flourish rather a CO2 system. I've got a TDS meter, and both a Gh and Kh test kit, plus Seachem Equilibrium and both the alkaline and acid buffer. What I'm wondering is what levels I should be shooting for in the RO water and the right sequence in which to treat the water to achieve those levels. I'm new to this and would like to start out right and not just guess about it or have too much trial and error.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
Research the fish or shrimp that you would like to keep.

If your tap water is reasonable, just too hard, then you can blend RO + tap to make the correct levels of minerals to suit the fish or shrimp. If the mineral levels are still not quite right you can add just a few of the ones that are low or missing.

If the tap water has some problems and cannot be used for aquariums and you will be using pure RO then you will have to add all the correct minerals in the correct ratios.

GH is a test that shows calcium and magnesium, combined. This is the most important parameter for fish.
Starting with RO water, add GH booster, which is a combination of calcium and magnesium, and often potassium. GH is measured in German degrees of hardness, and in parts per million (which is the same as milligrams per liter).
Soft water fish would prefer a GH under about 10 degrees, though the optimum value should be researched for each species.
Hard water fish would prefer a GH over 10 degrees, again, research the fish.