The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3,614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to planted tanks and such, but I really like the Idea of turning my 20g high Convict cichlid tank in to a easy maintanance, low cost riparium. I have seen several that look amazing, and I would like to :icon_quesMABEY:icon_ques try my hand at them. Since ripariums are pretty new, and their arent any good sites\books out their that I know of (other than hydro's blog!) I have several questions.
1. Are most hardy aquarium plants, hardy rip plants?
2. What are some hardy rip plants?
2. What is a good riparium plant medium, other than Riparium Supply's planting medium which will come out soon?
4. What type of fert's would I use with easy to care for plants?
:bounce:
These are just QUESTIONS! It is not a set deal, so dont expect a jounal soon! Thanks a whole lot! Jake.

·
Registered
3,614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
One more, how much would I have to pay to add riparium plants?

·
Registered
9,750 Posts
Jake, Are you able to set up a hanging light fixture so that you can keep this tank open? If you can then you can probably fill it to 2/3 or so of depth and let the plants grow out the top.

If you cannot do this then you will only be able to fill tank to about 1/3 full because the plants will be restricted by the height of the canopy. In this case I don't know that that 7 gallons or so of water would be enough for a convict.

·
Registered
3,614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I looked that up today, and I think I will be able to hang the light, mabey! Thankfully, coralife has a cheap hanging kit for their lights that would probably work.

·
Registered
9,750 Posts
So long as you don't mind putting a couple of holes in your ceiling you could also probably DIY a hanger assembly for cheap with chain or steel cable from the hardware store. I had a blog post about doing that for a T5 striplight.

http://hydrophytesblog.com/?p=542