The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to all things planted and am still learning quite a lot. I am wondering if one question I have can be cleared for me. I am dosing EI and understand how that works, but I am not completely clear on how to make sure I am dosing the right amounts- mainly macro level. I understand that I should test for macros, and I understand that each (potassium, nitrogen and phosphate) have a ppm that my tank should be holding at. What I am unsure of is the actual tests that I should be doing for these and how to convert the results into ppm to know what I am looking at. I have an API Master Test kit with all the bells and whistles. Basically I want to make sure I know that I am dosing the right amounts in conjunction with my tanks needs. Any information will be appreciated!!

·
Registered
3,702 Posts

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
Hi all,

I am new to all things planted and am still learning quite a lot. I am wondering if one question I have can be cleared for me. I am dosing EI and understand how that works, but I am not completely clear on how to make sure I am dosing the right amounts- mainly macro level. I understand that I should test for macros, and I understand that each (potassium, nitrogen and phosphate) have a ppm that my tank should be holding at. What I am unsure of is the actual tests that I should be doing for these and how to convert the results into ppm to know what I am looking at. I have an API Master Test kit with all the bells and whistles. Basically I want to make sure I know that I am dosing the right amounts in conjunction with my tanks needs. Any information will be appreciated!!