The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently have a 120g tank with mainly mbuna cichlids, its the standard tank with gravel and sunken ship deco. Now heres the thing i want to convert it to a planted tank but still have the cichlids. now i know most people say this is bad idea with african cichlids but i have seen videos of successful tanks where as long as the fish are well fed they pretty much leave the plants alone, so as im new to the whole planted aquarium thing i was wondering what it would take to convert it into a great looking planted tank. like best substrate best kind of lighting (looking into VHO so i can continue to use it once i convert to reeftank in far future any advice or suggestions on good place to get it would be great) how much lighting would i need and good place to get parts for DIY CO2 system etc. any advice would be GREATLY appreciated

·
Registered
9,774 Posts
Lighting- Dont waste on VHO go for T5HO much more effiecient and the y run cooler and bulbs last longer.

CO2- Pressurized is a must on a tnak this size DIY won't cut it.

Substrate- I would recommend play sand as the cichlids will uproot it.

Here is what I would do if it was my tank:

2 Bulb T5HO fixture
NO CO2
Playsand

Rocks for hardscape

Plants: Anubias, bolboltis tied to rocks also some java ferns. Consider some java moss spread on the rocks the africans will love to graze off of it, plant some jungle vals in the sand with Root tabs underneath of them.

This will require little light, if stocked as most cichlid tanks are you shouldn't need to an KNO3 but maybe some Potassium K2SO4 and Phosphate KH2PO4. No CO2 will be needed as these are low light low demand plants. Sand will allow the cichlids to spawn and dig but not uproot tons of plants. Low enough light to see everything but not enough to start a huge algae field.

Craig

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·