The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well instead of buy a xp2 I bought a xp3 for a 10 gallon... I setup the filter and check every thing if their was any air inside the canister. I know its a lot of power for a 10 gallon but its doesn't look strong at all I mean its blowing my fish around but its not blowing my gravel.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am using a spray bar and this is my first time owning a canister filter and don't know much about canister flow. I place the bar horizontal, the intake is sucking very hard and the exhaust not so much if I put the spray bar. But with out the bar and the powerjet it blows hard. Am I just crazy??

·
Registered
974 Posts
That is because the spray bar divides the flow power through the holes across the bar. Therefore there is less flow per "hole".

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I heard that the xp3 would blow like a river in a ten gallon tank... My xp3 is not blowing like that....

·
Registered
375 Posts
You do know there is an adjustment valve that you can turn up or down that will allow how much flow you can have.

In my book, it's page 15 that gives you 8 different diagrams to follow. If you used part D you can crank it up to full flow! Sounds like you have the flow regulator turned way down.

·
Premium Member
5,071 Posts
an xp3 on a 10g is just plain crazy unless you want a river tank... it blows like a hurricane in my 75g. You can regulate the flow to real low with part D, but then what is the point in the larger unit? just wasting energy.

I just bought an XP1 for my 20g and the current is a bit stronger than I'd like...

·
Registered
329 Posts