The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK. I have a 75 Gallon tank which held oscars. The oscars got something, and stopped eating. I tried my best, and the last one has died. I loved my oscars, but they were too messy, and I'm sorry to have them die, but here my chance to start fresh.

I have some experience with planted tanks. I currently am running two 10 gallon moderately planted tanks, and one 5.5 gallon planted shrimp tank. The thing is that I'm lost in going large scale planted. This is what I currently have in my 75 gallon.

Basic 4 foot long (two 24" bulbs) light canopy
50 - 75 pounds of Regular "river rock" small gravel
Three random large chunks of drift wood
whisper 3 HOB
Penguin 300 HOB
Eheim Pro 2026?? Canister
AC #301 powerhead with quick filter attachment

I'm trying to use as much of the old stuff as I can. I am willing to change out the gravel to something else, I'm thinking maybe PFS. I know that the stock canopy is [email protected], but I am trying to keep that. What I want to have at the end point is a low light low maintenance tank. Something where I will not need to fert. Also, the tank is in my parents basement, and they like watching the "personality" of the oscars that were in there before.

Would I be able to get away with growing anything besides mosses on that setup? What's some good low light plants that might survive? What fish should I look at? I was thinking Angels, or Rams. I think they would be bored with a large school of either Cardinals or Rasboras. The thing also, is that with any of these fish, I would need to have the tank at least moderately planted to make them comfortable.

Maybe I should just get some sorta cichlids again and forgo the large scale planted tank?

Lastly, how do I "clean" out the tank? I want to wash out the tank and gravel to kill anything that might be left after the oscars deaths. Bleach? Vinagar?