The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I guess my new project will be watching these guys over the winter. They're juvies, and you can see they're red, as compared to a cherry I put in the pic. I suspect it's a juvenile coloration that doesn't last, but it's pretty while it's here, isn't it? From a tank of "wild tigers" or "super tigers" I've been cooking for a couple years.

DK

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
are any available for purchasing?

Red tigers are a natural occurrence and will stay red no matter what food you feed. They are a different color variation from china I think from the regular tiger shrimp. Where did you get them from?

Simon

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
I sort of just throw 'em whatever food I'm feeding for the day. A lot of Hikari sinking wafers, and then I also feed flake and boiled veggies such as broccoli, spinach, dandelion leaves, clover, zucchini. Whatever I have, basically.

These guys were in a forgotten, neglected tank in the weeds and I never paid them any attention until I went to empty the tank the other day. I'm breaking down my first generation invert rack because I now have the stuff for the third generation and I need to recycle real estate to set it up.

I don't know if it's juvie coloring or stress coloring or what, so I'll be watching them over the winter in a show tank where I can see them better. I have maybe half dozen of this morph that I pulled out. They were in water that was not meeting their micronutrient needs, and now that they are in more suitable water, this could disappear. So I quickly took the pictures because I thought these were rather pretty.

The pictures aren't juiced; they have sort of tomato red stripes on them. I wish I had a better camera.