The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to planted tanks, but have had a 75 gallon non planted cichlid tank for years. The current setup has been going for about 6 years or so. I talked to a local LFS that I trust and they sold me a 50 lb. bag or the Red Flint small gravel that he said I could mix with the existing gravel (only had about 2 inches of larger natural colored aquarium gravel).

I mixed the Red Flint Gravel in with the existing gravel, but when I look at it, I feel like I should add more for a better mixture.

Is it bad to go too deep with the substrate? Also, should I mix something like Flourite or alternative with what I have, can I get by with just adding more Red Flint gravel or sand, and if I do, should I just add it to the top of what I have or mix it in?

Now that I've committed to mixing the 50 lbs I already put in, I really don't want to get rid of the existing substrate.

I plan to stick to the easier to grow plants at first with 130watt CF that I have ordered. And perhaps trade in the one cichlid I have left along with the Large Pleco, for a shoal of Danios and perhaps some Otto Cats.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
The rule of thumb is to only put 3 inches of substrate in the tank I'd follow it if it was me.

As long as the Red Flint is aquarium safe (no pH or ammonia swings) and it's in the 1mm-3mm size range it's fine as a substrate and it's up to you if you want to mix or layer it with other stuff it's a very subjective call.

The best way to feed the plants is to add water column ferts ether brand name liquids or the much cheaper dry ferts you mix yourself. Even with low-light plants they make a difference. The occasional root tabs for rooted plants give a bit extra boost and the Seachem brand is easy to get and it's cheap.

- Brad

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·