The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I'm shipping some red cherry shrimp and had a few questions.

When I ship them, should I be using my tank water so they aren't shocked, as opposed to putting them them in 100% new dechlorinated tap water?

Should I mix it 50-50 (tank & fresh?).

(Been reading both sides of the coin on these questions on Google).

Shipping in a breather bag. Should I Double bag?

Fill water all the way to the top or have an inch of air on the top?

Knot the bag only or double down with a rubber band?

Shipping priority mail. What box size would you go with if I'm shipping 12 of them? Thinking #4 box (7x7x6). My concern it might not be big enough for both the shrimp and styrofoam.

Thanks! :)

·
Registered
3,444 Posts
Please take this information with a grain of salt. I have no experience shipping shrimp!

When I ship them, should I be using my tank water so they aren't shocked, as opposed to putting them them in 100% new dechlorinated tap water?

If the dechlorinated tap water is the exact same as what's in your tank, then fresh water should be fine.

Should I mix it 50-50 (tank & fresh?).

If tap is different than tank water, go with tank water... unless of course tank water has nitrates in it, then add in some fresh water.

Shipping in a breather bag. Should I Double bag?

Single bag. They are called "breather" bags for a reason, and double bagging them could negate that effect.

Fill water all the way to the top or have an inch of air on the top?

Breather bag... fill all the way! (which you don't need to use more than perhaps half the bag full of water? maybe even 3/4 or less filled)

Knot the bag only or double down with a rubber band?

You could rubber band, twist, fold and rubber band again? I don't know best method