The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I checked the other noob posts and they were a lot more advanced than me. I am a total noob. I was referred to this site by an aquarium enthusiast and was immediately floored by the amount of info!

I have a small goldfish--he's not even really a goldfish, he is what they called a "feeder fish"--that my fiancee won in Coney Island. We have grown quite attached to him and he is named Turbo. Here he is.

I have a simple 1.5 gallon freshwater tank with some fake plants that takes basic BioBag carbon-fiber filters. I am home a lot and have the capacity to spend a lot of time on this but I need to start slow as I am also a bit error-prone. My friend has suggested the following:

hornwort: it's a floating plant, pretty, grows very easily and can take over your tank.
java moss: needs to be attached to hardscape (rock or driftwood). good for baby animals to hide in.
anubias: also needs to be attached to hardscape, has very nice rounder leaves.
java fern: also needs to be attached to harscape. looks fernlike, longer thinner leaves.
cryptocryne: grows slowly and may take some time to adapt, then looks lovely. thin leaves.
amazon swords: grow taller and more quickly than others. pretty green foliage, good background plant.

I'm not sure where to start. I don't even know if a 1.5 gallon tank is able to accommodate live plants. And I know I have to worry about the lighting and the water. Can anyone help?Thanks!

:fish1::fish1::fish1:

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
Welcome to PT.
Take your time, we have plenty of info and folks that will lend you a hand,
this can be addicting so be warned. :)

·
Banned
4,111 Posts
NP, we're all here to help you, this hobby contains a lot of info so a few months or even years down the road, you'll still be reviewing back a lot because there's so much info.