The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have five Philippine blues and one Altum cross growing out in a 40gal breeder tank. I've never done this before. What should I expect to happen? Will they pair up or will they fight etc.. I notice they pick at the Altum cross and chase it away. I'm wondering if and when I should seperate it.

·
Registered
4,032 Posts
They can get a bit territorial during breeding, If they paired off, you can place them in a smaller cycled bare tank with a piece of slate or tile.
You will need a 55 gal for raising the fry for the first couple of weeks and possibly a second as they grow, they can have large clutches of fry at a time.

·
Registered
4,032 Posts
Sometimes they will even pair up with the wrong sex, but be just as aggressive.
They go through the whole egg laying process.

That being said, if they eat all the eggs or fry or whatever in the beginning, just leave them.
They need a few tries to get it right. It conditions them well anyway.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Congratulations! this will be an amazing and fun experience for you. I have been breeding angels for lots of years....
What I do: once they pair off.

* get them in a tank of their own... I use a 29 tall...just because...it's tall and it is empty and ready to rock.
* add a tall piece of slate. lean against wall at a nice steep angle....near some current but not crazy current
* once she lays make sure the male does his job...let him finish...seriously....
* My current mated pair do not eat their own eggs, but some will thus.....
* remove to a nursery tank...I use a 10...
* add methalene blue to keep bad things from happening to the eggs
* current for oxygen....I dangle and airstone right infront of the eggs...

Wait, wait wait....you will see the eggs develop
soon they will hatch out, with just their tails wiggling and their noses stuck to the slate