The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, this forum is great and has provided a ton of great information so far.

I currently have a 55 gallon tank that is non planted and I am wanting to convert it over and have a couple of questions.

1) I am planning on upgrading my light from the standard fixture I have now. From reading through the forum it seems that I either want to go with a single t5ho or a dual t5no fixture to provide medium light and not need to worry about CO2. Is this the right path to go? I want to be able to grow a variety of plants but don't want to invest in CO2 or be overtaken by algae.

2) I am also after the cheapest substrate I can find to get the job done. I actually have some pool filter sand in a bag left over from another tank so I am inclined to go that route. However, do I then have to use root tabs for plants that require more than liquid ferts? I have never used them before and online it says you have to keep replacing them as the plant uses the nutrients, so I would have to replace them every couple of months? I have also read about using potting soil or dirt, is this a better route? I am concerned because I am trying to change the substrate while I have fish in there currently and am hoping for something that I do not have to worry about cycling and releasing a lot of ammonia as it breaks down since I have no where else to keep the fish other than a bucket while I change the substrate and let it settle.

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
12 Posts
In regards to the substrate -- have you considered going the "El Natural" or Walstad approach? It's definitely worth a look, especially since you're avoiding CO2 and you're looking for cheap substrate :p