The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, fairly new to freshwater planted tanks. And have some questions.

My wife and I have been doing saltwater for about 7 years so I'm familiar with sump setups and overflows. Our current planted setup is in a 55gal and my wife just can not stand how narrow it is for doing aquascaping and what not.

We have a marine land 60gal rimless sitting in our garage we were going to use for a salt tank but plans seem to be changing and it was brought up using it as a new tank for the planted setup. It has a corner overflow and return.

I'm wondering what is usually kept in. Freshwater sump. Is it just mechanical filtration? Is there any real benefit to a freshwater sump? How much flow does one want with a return pump?

I have a radion xr30 gen 2 that would be used for lighting and have most everything else. Just curious what my options are with the sump.

Thanks

Alex

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
489 Posts
I would utilize a sump on a freshwater tank (if I had the setup already, I wouldn't go purchase it for freshwater) the same way I did on my reef tanks.
I would use it to keep my filter (sponge, etc) and as a refugium for raising shrimp, and depending on the type of display, maybe as a plant filter.

If I didn't want, need many plants in the display tank, or it wasn't practical to keep plants in the display tank such as when keeping many/most cichlids
then I'd put a light over the sump and grow tons of hungry floaters like water lettuce and duckweed. EXCELLENT bio-filter. If using on a planted display
I'd use fewer, or zero floaters/plants since they'll ravenously use up nutrients that your display plants need and would be counterproductive.

Mostly it's a way to keep your filter and heater out of the display.