The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Hope this is the right section. Anyway I'm fairly new to all this and was hoping for some insight. While running CO2 I realize I have to ditch my air pumps hooked up to sponges. Now I was wondering about running power heads for circulation, mini power heads. Possibly much below surface. I realize I can run the CO2 right through the heads. At what level do you guys run your power heads and should I run them while doing CO2? That kinda thing. Will I be wasting C02? Thanks cheers

I setup my tank thinking I wouldn't do CO2 but changed my mind, I need the circulation now which I hope I can accomplish without agitating the surface so much and losing CO2. Should I move my spray bar to the bottom as well?

·
Registered
373 Posts
I think it is fairly uncommon to run co2 with sponge filter?

Generally you want to have enough flow to move water to all corner. Simple flow test is to grab a short string with your tweezers and put it in your tank.

You might as well go cannister and do it properly. I do have an airstone in my tank that I run for a bit after photoperiod and co2 is off to clear out surface scum.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a canister going. I might run the co2 through the power head if that would be good. Ill wait a few days on the purchase for more insight. The test idea is great, thank you

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hope this is the right section. Anyway I'm fairly new to all this and was hoping for some insight. While running CO2 I realize I have to ditch my air pumps hooked up to sponges. Now I was wondering about running power heads for circulation, mini power heads. Possibly much below surface. I realize I can run the CO2 right through the heads. At what level do you guys run your power heads and should I run them while doing CO2? That kinda thing. Will I be wasting C02? Thanks cheers