The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I am new to planted tanks.

I have started an Iwagumi tank with HC Cuba. I did a prolonged dry start and flooded the tank about 2 weeks ago. When I flooded I trimmed the carpet, and decreased the light from about 11 hours / day down to 6 hours/day. I am currently doing 50-60% water changes every 3 days and will decrease to twice a week starting next week.

The plants have been growing amazingly during the 2 weeks since flooding. So far, I have not started a dosing regimine. I have APT Complete from the 2 Hr Aquarist, but I have not used any.

I have not had any significant algae growth yet, but I do see a bit of green spot algae (I think it's green spot algae) here and there. For this reason, I have not yet started the fertilizer dosing regimine. I am concerned that starting it will help the algae. So far the plants are doing great and are growing like crazy.

My question is if I should start dosing with fertilizer anyway? Should I wait longer? Should I see how the plants do without dosing or will this inevitably lead to die-off of the carpet?

Information about equipment/livestock:
32 gallon tank
UN Controsoil substrate
25 neon tetras
8 nerite snails - secondary question? Is this enough for a 32gallon or should I consider more?
HC Cuba carpet
Oase Biomaster 250 cannister filter
Twinstar LED 600EC - 6 hours daily. ramping up from 1% intensity to 85% intensity over 3 hours, 1 hour at 85% intensity and ramping back down for last 2 hours
CO2 system - turns on about 5 minutes before lights and turns off when lights do - drop checker is green while lights are on.

Thank you in advance for your input!

·
Banned
628 Posts