The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I’m new in aquascaping and I need some help.

I want to do a 10 gallons shrimp tank most cherry shrimps. I got some “Dragon Stone” from my local aquarium. I read that I need to clean the stones. But, I soaked the stone over 2 weeks now rinse the stone every day. But, the stone never stop leaking clay. Do you guys have any idea how to clean the stones?

Thank you.

·
Registered
33 Posts
It is a crumbly stone. Some pieces may be more so than others. I’m using a couples pieces now in an aquarium and I don’t have any issues with it falling apart in the tank.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It is a crumbly stone. Some pieces may be more so than others. I’m using a couples pieces now in an aquarium and I don’t have any issues with it falling apart in the tank.
Hi,

I’m not talking about the crumbly part.. I’m taking about the clay. Is look like I’m going to do a jar with all the clay I’m removing.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Hi,

I’m not talking about the crumbly part.. I’m taking about the clay. Is look like I’m going to do a jar with all the clay I’m removing.
That's exactly what @AceFish is saying... it's a clay stone so it crumbles with small bits of clay coming off it.
You don't need to clean it until it stops crumbling because it will be fine as is for shrimps.

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
OP is talking about all of the pockets being packed with clay, not necessarily the stone itself being crumbly.