The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks;

I am new to the world of planted tanks. The water wisteria and rotala rotundifolia in my 55G planted tank seem to be showing some problems and I could sure use your help in diagnosing the problem.

Wisteria:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/members/xmas_dude-albums-myplants-picture2623-wisteria-stem.html

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/members/xmas_dude-albums-myplants-picture2624-wisteria-leaves.html

The plant seems very stunted and older leaves are having black edges and curling up. Recently I have also been seeing spots/holes? on the leaves. There are some new leaves but very minimal growth. Most of the plant is bare stem with small crown of new leaves at top. I have also seen base of the stem is black and seems rotten.

Rotala Rotundifolia:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/members/xmas_dude-albums-myplants-picture2625-rotala-stems.html

I have been seeing new stems growing at the base, but majority of the original stems are having leaves dying out (black edges on leaves) and small crown of new leaves on stems.

The crypts/swords are doing pretty well. Wasnt able to diagnose what is the problem with above plants:

1. Is lighting of about 2 wpg too little for these plants to survive?
2. Is this some nutrient deficiency?
3. What is causing the black edges on the leaves before they die off?
4. What are those holes on leaves? Not seen fish nip at the leaves at any time. I have seen what looks like trumpet snails on the leaves on several occasions.. Could these be eating the leaves?

---Tank Parameters (55G) cycled and running for last 6 months ---

Lighting: 2x54w T5 HO Hagen Glo (8 hrs a day)
Substrate: Eco complete
Filter: Marineland 330
Temp: 81F
PH: 7.5
GH: 30 ppm
KH: 40 ppm
Nitrates: 40 ppm
Nitrites: 0
Ammonia: 0

Ferts:
Plantex CSM+B: 1/8 tsp 2x a week
Potassium Nitrate KN03: 1/2 tsp 2x a week
Monopotassium Phosphate KH2PO4: 1/8 tsp 2x a week