The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my new CO2 setup in anticapation for my new tank. I currently put it on my "old" tank to give it a try. I've only usd DIY CO2 in the past, so I'm rather new to this. Ex paintball junkie though.

I've noticed that over the course of the day that I have to change the valving due to a drop in bubble rate. Is that normal, because I didn't think that little amout of flow would affect the bottle that much. The high side pressure remains constant (The gauge doesn't drop, so no leaks there). The low side gauge doesn't even register (but the gauge does work) at 1 bps. I just have it running into a "ladder".

Reg. setup that Dr. Foster sells w/ 5lb bottle (Only filled to 3lbs though. Might that be an issue?)

Any thoughts?

I can't WAIT until I'm done with my new tank :)
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/diy/28182-start-my-130ish-gallon-corner-setup.html
I've have to start a new thread because so much has happened since my last post.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm at job #2 right now and can't recal the model number (It's a Milwaukee of somesort..... same one that Dr. Foster Smith sells. PCs are too locked down here to go look for it). In the instructions it says to open the needle valve completely and use the main valve for regulation. Using the needle valve to fine tune if need be. it sounded odd from what I have read/come to understand.

Just to restate what you said; Get the working side up to around 25-30psi and use the needle valve from there to get the correct bps/bpm.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Could someone please explain to me the finer points of "bottle dump".

So, I get home after leaving my CO2 go at 1 bps and find all of my fish dead and an empty bottle.

Today has sucked some serrious balls.

Its a Milwaukee MA957 regulator

·
Registered
9,600 Posts