The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Hi guys, this is my first time setting up a co2 system. I'm tired of diy co2, my budget is tight right now, so i want to stay at low cost. I am looking at
Regulator
NO EBA LINKS ALLOWED
co2 tank
http://www.dtpetsupplies.com/catalo...CO2-Tanks-Cylinders/5-lb-Aluminum-CO2-bottle/

i have a bubble counter, diffuser, co2 checker already, i will turn off co2 at night, so i do not want to get a solenoid (staying cheap). Guys anything else do i need? Thanks!!

·
Registered
2,709 Posts
That isn't the correct gas tank connector for CO2, despite what the ad says.
CO2 tanks have male threads. The regulator will have female CGA-320 fitting.
You are also going to need a needle valve and unless you turn it on and off manually, a solenoid.

I don't know anything about this, other than they are a forum supporter, but here except for a tank, is a complete hardware setup for $81.95.
http://www.aquabuys.com/page/aqb/PROD/mi_co2_regulator

As for the tank, Aluminum is nice but you pay a premium for it. With shipping and handling, then filling (approx $10.00) after you get it, the tank you listed isn't going to be a budget tank. Call local welding, beverage suppliers, and fire extinguisher places and see what they want for a filled tank. Also, ask the beverage suppliers how much a dual guage single stage regulator will cost. You might be pleasantly surprised.

Presuming the solution is correct, the drop checker looks like a deal, but you could make your own and save a bit.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
That is a good regulator, with one problem - the outlet pressure gage is intended for welding applications, where the pressure is shown as a gas flow rate, not a pressure. Unless you have some idea what 10 L/min translates to as a pressure it will be hard to use this. New regulators can be purchased for about $40, so this isn't the "top of the line".