The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello so I'm new to planted tanks and this just started happening just yesterday in my tank is a 29g planted and the last water change was on the second of this month i have 5 guppies and one angelfish, okay so the thing is that just yesterday I found one of my guppies died and nothing looked weird I checked if it was ich or fin rot..nothing I just moved on since I thought maybe it was his time well today once I turned on my lights I see two guppies upside down but still swimming 馃槺 . So what I need help is to tell what is wrong with them really I done so much research and I really can't say I have tested the water for everything and everything is normal ... Please help馃檹馃徎

Registered
Fish that cannot swim right side up may have any of several things going on, but here are a few ideas.
The Guppies may have an infection that is affecting their swim bladder, so they cannot stay right side up.
The water may be too soft for them, so too much water is entering their cells, and they cannot get rid of enough water.
The Angelfish might be attacking them, perhaps ramming them in the side, causing internal injuries.

Guppies are hard water fish that can tolerate slightly softer water.
Poecilia reticulata ? Guppy (Lebistes poecilioides, Girardinus guppii ) ? Seriously Fish
Angelfish are soft water fish that can tolerate slightly harder water.
Pterophyllum ?scalare? ? Angelfish ? Seriously Fish
There is some overlap in their tolerances, but it is like walking a tightrope to keep both species in one water chemistry. Anything changes, and one species or the other will not be in the right sort of water.

Angelfish are predatory, and may eat small fish like Guppies. They are also territorial, and may chase or even kill fish that enter their nesting area. Even without a mate, a male Angel may claim a territory (roughly 18-24" across) and want to keep out intruders.