The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I humbly request the help of the experts on this forum to help make sure I buy the best parts for my new build at the best possible prices. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. I am fairly new to the hobby and have only setup a few planted tanks so far, and this will be my first rimless Amano Nature Style aquarium.

This will be a low/med. light Excel based tank - Anubias, java ferns, mosses, etc.

Aquarium:

• Mr. Aqua 33.6 Gallon Frameless Glass Aquarium Tank 24.8 x 17.7 x 17.7 Inch - MarineDepot $169.99 + $43.00 shipping.

Lighting:

• Zoo Med AquaSun T5-HO Double Light Linear Fluorescent Hood, 24-Inch - Amazon $56.32
  • Zoo Med Ultra Sun Trichromatic Super Daylight Bulb T5 High Output 24 Watts, 22-Inch - Amazon $13.19
  • Zoo Med Flora Sun Plant Bulb T5 High Output 24 Watts, 22-Inch - Amazon $14.24

Filtration:

• Eheim Classic Aquarium Filter 2213 - Amazon $79.99
  • Eheim Fine Filter Pad for 2213 Canister Filter (3 pcs) - Amazon $7.37
  • Blue Filter Pads for Eheim 2213 Canister Filter - 2 pk - Amazon $6.03
  • 13mm Lily Pipes - eBay $30.00 + $16 shipping

Heating:

• Hydor ETH 200 In-Line Heater UL 200W f/12mm & 1/2" Hose - Amazon $56.06

Substrate:

• 2 bags - CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb - Petco $33.98 + $5.99 shipping.

Total cost for equipment: $532.16

Now, onto my questions:

• Is the Eheim 2213 enough filtration? Should I consider the 2215 instead, or perhaps look at one of the cheaper SunSun/Perfect filters?
  • Where can I find clear acrylic tubing for the Eheim filters? I find the green tubing ugly and would like to keep a minimal footprint above the tank.
  • Will the 2x T5HO be too much lighting? I plan on suspending using wire about 6" above the rim. Tank depth is 18", minus about 2-4" for substrate.