The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some wendeth, corkscrew vals, and banana plants that are turning clear and withering away. Dwarf hairgrass is doing ok. I jave 40w on a 10g with DIY co2, eco-complete substrate.
Any tips?

·
Premium Member
2,175 Posts
40Watts is ALLOT with DIY CO2 on a 10g if you ask me but, I'm no expert and I am still new my self. 4wpg is Allot. What kind of lights? Any ferts? How long has the tank been running?

·
Super Moderator
12,118 Posts
As Dempsey already mentioned, you do have quite a bit of light over your tank. Are you sure your CO2 levels are consistent and adequate (i.e. check with a drop checker).

Also, you should be fertilizing, given the amount of light you have.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
damn,coming from reefkeeping I was not expecting to hear 4 wpg is a lot. Theyre 20w spiral cfl's 6500k. What ferts do you recomend? maybe I could cut back the lighting cycle from 8 hours to 4-6? Would fluorish excel be worth using?
The tank is 2 months old almost. I dont have a drop checker on my DIY setup, didnt think it would make a difference, not like I am using pressurized.

Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
9,711 Posts
40 watts is not too much. diy co2 should work fine. I had 40 watts over a 10 gallon with diy and some excel and had no algae problems. It might be that your plants are melting because your water params are different than where they were originally. Excel might melt your vals even more, but I have no experience with that. Not sure exactly what your problem is. What are your water params?

·
Premium Member
2,175 Posts
I am not as knowledgeable as most on this site. At all! I have gotten the impression that 4wpg is allot. I haven't been a member on here that long but I haven't any many tanks with more then 4wpg. Like I said though, I am new and haven't been here long. I guess with enough CO2/excel, you can make it work?