The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I'm not an expert by any means, but I have owned tanks since I was a kid, and I've read tons about tanks. In the last two years I've tried this whole planted tank thing, and I am thoroughly confused. Please bare with me this is going to be long, but Im trying to be as thorough as possible.

First of all I have 3 tanks. A 3 gal betta tank no filter or lighting (it sits in the window and gets natural light) with a Brazilian sword plant (I think that's what it's called?). I have a 30 gal tank I bought from Walmart with all the generic lighting and filtration that goes with it.
In that one I just have some tetras and mollies with Java fern and an Anubis plant. and then I have 55 gal with a plecos and a spotted Florida gar (he's still a baby).

The problem I'm having is in the gar tank. My other two tanks the plants are growing and flourishing just fine. But in the gar tank I have tried just about every low light plant I can find and they all either get brown spots and die (Currently I have a banana plant in it and that's what it's doing) or the plants turn clear and die.

In the betta and tetra tanks I have gravel as a substrate. In the gar tank I thought sand substrate would be better as its more natural for a gar. The sand I bought was this sand from petsmart. http://m.petsmart.com/h5/hub?id=sup...d36-16745/cat-36-catid-300072?var_id=36-16745