The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
I just got a great deal on a 150gal Marineland deep dimension tank 36"x36" and looking forward to setting up as a planted tank. I'm a newbie :icon_roll when it comes to planted tanks but do have experience with freshwater aquariums. What are some recommendations from your experience ?

1. What type or brand of Substrate ?
  2. Lighting?---- I was planning on using 36" Marinelnad 24 hr lighting - are these any good... i currently own a 48" reef capable, but not to sure it will provide the proper lighting I need.
  3. Co2 setup ?
  4. What are some good starter plants? ... for creating grass bed?
  5. Drift Wood ? are there treated types of wood that do not leech ?

·
Registered
47 Posts
1) There are many good substrates available such as Ecocomplete, ADA Aquasoil, etc. But there are trade offs to each - for instance, Ecocomplete is innate (has little/no nutrients in it) but comes pre-cycled and also has great granule sizes for plants. Aquasoil has a lot of great nutrients, but it only lasts about a year until it too becomes innate. A good option for planted tanks is a mineralized topsoil:
http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/...-mineralized-soil-substrate-aaron-talbot.html
Cover it with an innate substrate like Ecocomplete or gravel and it keeps the nutrients to only the plants and away from algae.

2) Since your tank is so wide, I would definitely get multiple fixtures spread out evenly. How deep is your tank, and what bulbs are you using? A great thread posted by Hoppy about finding the correct lighting for you:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/lighting/105774-par-vs-distance-t5-t12-pc.html
For the light cycle I would recommend around 9 hours to prevent the growth of algae.

3) Depends on your lighting - low light, I don't think you'll need it. If you have a mid-high light, I would start looking into it.