The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never had a nice planted tank before. I've kept some java moss alive in my cichlid tank, but that's about it. I recently came into a free 29g tank and stand, and I'm going to try my hand at plants.

I am considering a SE Asia theme for my tank (harlequin rasboras, kuhli loaches, cherry shrimp, betta or gourami) and I have already purchased lights, 20lbs of eco complete substrate, and a filter. My question is this:

I was planning on adding about 10lbs. of tahitian moon sand on top of the ecocomplete. I have never used sand as a substrate before, and I was wondering if I need to rinse eco-complete and tahitian moon sand prior to adding it to my tank. I'm wary of this, because both come presoaked in the nitrifying microbiota and nutrients. Won't rinsing wash all this away?

Any advice any one can offer on the tank would be much appreciated, and I'm sure I will be around the forum quite a bit as I begin the planting/stocking phase of the tank build. Thanks.

-C

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Ether way works fine the nutrient wash wont last very long once you add the water so you will need to dose your water column with ferts pretty soon anyway.

Keep in mind the sand will slowly sink to the bottom of the tank.

- Brad

·
Registered
987 Posts
Yeah I've had Eco Complete and topped it with black sand in the past. Unfortunately the sand will always end up at the bottom.

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
I'm not disagreeing with lauraleellbp but in my opinion the only reason you need to pre-wash a substrate is because you made an impulse buy and have a bag or bags of fish setting next to the empty tank.