The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are there and must have books out there for the beginner and seasoned pro alike?
I am new to the planted aquarium game and Id like to know what folks recommend i have on the bookshelf.

thanks,

Hank

·
Registered
352 Posts
i've purchased both fresh and salt water books from bookstores before but from my experience with them, the info was slightly dated (ie. watts per gal), and usually 5% of the book is an outline on how to set up and maintain an aquarium and the other 95 was general info on different species of fish/plants/corals. The majority of the indepth articles i usually found online. The book themselves to me makes more of an coffee table books. But maybe i just happened to choose the wrong books. im curious to see what's suggested =) maybe i'll get a few myself. I did hear tho that a lot of people have liked the diana walstad book.

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
I've learned most of what I know from the internet (back in the usenet days, before the internet had pictures :) ).

For the most part, I've found a large majority of aquarium books tend to be overly basic, or really specific to a certain species.

There are quite a few exceptions I've ran into over the years, but unfortunately I can't remember any of the titles off the top of my head.

I've recently read (and purchased) Walstad's book, and thought it was really great. It probably helps to have a bit of a science background, or at least be scientifically literate, but I think she does a fairly good job of explaining things.

amazon linky:

http://www.amazon.com/Ecology-Planted-Aquarium-Practical-Scientific/dp/0967377307

·
Registered
280 Posts